The Lost Poets of the Magnificent Seven

About the project

There is a circle around London formed by the city’s dead, a ring of Victorian cemeteries known as the Magnificent Seven. Chris McCabe has set himself a challenge: to find a great, lost poet buried within this ‘spectral circuit’. From Norwood and Nunhead in the south to the great necropolis of Highgate – will he find what he’s set out to discover? See literary London from a new perspective as the city’s forgotten voices rise up, demanding to be heard.

Books and maps






What people say

A spectral circuit of London, more mysterious than the M25.
Iain Sinclair

Thick with research, presented with beautiful prose and a poetic heart.

A triumph of literary archaeology.
Tom Bolton

About Chris McCabe

Chris McCabe’s work spans artforms and genres including poetry, fiction, non-fiction, drama and visual art. His work has been shortlisted for the Ted Hughes Award and the Republic of Consciousness Prize. His latest poetry collection, The Triumph of Cancer, is a Poetry Book Society Recommendation and he is the editor of several anthologies including Poems from the Edge of Extinction: An Anthology of Poetry in Endangered Languages. His first novel, Dedalus, is a sequel to Ulysses; his second, Mud, a version of the legend of Orpheus and Eurydice, set beneath Hampstead Heath. He works at the National Poetry Library in his role as the National Poetry Librarian.

Related blog posts

Read more on our blog

Connect with us

Thank you for subscribing to our email newsletter, Marginal Notes
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.